The ways the batsmen can be given an out...


When a bowler gets a batsman out, it is said that the bowler gets a "wicket". Following are the different ways a batsman can be given out:

Bowled - If the ball is bowled and hits the striking batsman's wickets, the batsman is given out (as long as at least one bail is removed by the ball). It does not matter whether the ball has touched the batsman's bat, gloves, body or any other part of the batsman. However the ball is not allowed to have touched another player or umpire before hitting the wickets.

Caught - If a batsman hits the ball or touches the ball with his bat or hand/glove holding the bat then the batsman can be caught out. If a fielder, wicket keeper or bowler catches the ball on the full (before it bounces or touches the ground) the batsman is declared out.

Leg Before Wicket (LBW) - If the ball is bowled and it hits the batsman first without the bat hitting it then an LBW decision can be considered by the umpire. For declaring the batsman out, he must first look at some of the factors. The first thing the umpire needs to decide is would the ball have hit the wickets if the batsman was not there. If his answer to this is yes and the ball was not pitched on the leg side of the wicket he can safely give the batsman out. However if the ball hits the batsman outside the line of off stump while he was attempting to play a stroke then he is not out.

Stumped - A batsman can be given out when the wicketkeeper puts down his wicket while he is out of his crease and not attempting a run (if he is attempting a run it would be a run-out).

Run Out - A batsman is out if no part of his bat or body is grounded behind the popping crease while the ball is in play and the wicket is fairly put down by the fielding side.

Handled The Ball - A batsman can be given out if he willingly handles the ball with the hand that is not touching the bat without the consent of the opposition.

Hit the Ball Twice - If a batsman hits a ball for second time when out of crease or for the purpose of protecting his wicket or preventing catch or run out. Batsman may hit ball twice if at least one foot is within crease and ball is being hit for second time for the purpose of scoring more runs and not to prevent a catch, run out or fall of his wicket. The ability to hit ball twice with some restrictions will make the batsman play a wider variety of shots.

Obstructing The Field of Play - A batsman is out if he willingly obstructs the opposition by word or action or is not ready to play for more than three minutes without approval of the opposing sides or umpire. 

<< Bowling and Fielding Runs  |  Score Keeping >>